The AVA recognises service to the association or the veterinary profession through a program of awards and prizes.
The Gilruth Prize is the AVA's most prestigious award. It is awarded to members and non-members for outstanding service to veterinary science in Australia. Unsuccessful nominees from the previous two years are automatically included in the nominations put forward for judging.
The Kesteven Medal is awarded to members for distinguished contributions to international veterinary science by providing technical and scientific assistance to developing countries. Unsuccessful nominees from the previous two years are automatically included in the nominations put forward for judging.
Fellowship Awards are awarded to members for outstanding service to the association.
Honorary Membership is awarded to eminent non-veterinarians for services to the AVA or the veterinary profession.
Meritorious Service Awards are awarded to members or non-members (who are not eligible for membership of the association). The Meritorious Service Award recognises special or long-term service to the AVA, its divisions, branches or special interest groups.
The Excellence in Teaching Award is awarded to members in recognition of the importance of teaching veterinary science in Australian universities.
The Kendall Oration and Medal is awarded when the AVA Annual Conference is held in Canberra or Melbourne to commemorate the occasion.
Practices of Excellence Awards are awarded to veterinary practices that provide outstanding service to their clients. To be eligible for an Practices of Excellence Award the principal veterinarians of the practice must be AVA members.
The Don Kerr Veterinary Student Award is awarded to a final year veterinary student from one of the veterinary schools. This award recognises academic achievement and exceptional commitment to cattle medicine.
AVA Student Awards are awarded to student members of the association who through their academic work and participation in student affairs are considered to be an asset to the student body and potentially an asset to the veterinary profession and the association.

Award winners

2016 AVA award winners

2015 AVA award winners

Complete list of award winners dating back to 1953


Nominations for awards (except for the Practices of Excellence Awards) should be made in writing to the CEO at AVA national office, via your division or special interest group.
Award winners are announced and presented with their award at the AVA Annual Conference. Some student awards are presented by the AVA at university graduation events.

More information

For more information about the award categories or deadline for nominations please contact national office on 02 9431 5000 or email



     Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact us