The Kersti Seksel Award


The Kersti Seksel Student Award was established in 2012 by AVBIG (Australian Veterinary Behaviour Interest Group). It is named in honour of Kersti Seksel in recognition of her contribution to veterinary behavioural medicine in Australia.

It is open to veterinary students of an Australian veterinary school who demonstrate an interest in behavioural medicine in veterinary practice and a genuine desire to develop this interest upon graduation.

Criteria for 2021

  • The Kersti Seksel Student Award is open to final year veterinary students (BVSc/BVMS/DVM) currently studying at an Australian university.

  • Winners will be selected from the applications received by the due date.

  • This award focuses on the applicant’s desire and potential capability for a career including behaviour in veterinary practice.

  • Applicants must be a current student member of AVBIG. Upon receipt of the applications, membership currency will be checked (as per AVA current member database).

  • The award is not convertible to other benefit.

  • While previous winners of the award are ineligible for the 2021 prize, unsuccessful applicants from previous years are encouraged to apply.

  • The judging panel’s decision is final and no correspondence or other communication about their decision will be entered into.

  • If suitable applicants are not forthcoming for the current round of the award, AVBIG reserves the right to decide to withdraw all or part of the prize as they see fit.


The winner will receive one year’s Graduate Membership to the Australian Veterinary Association worth $408 plus one year’s membership to the Behaviour special interest group AVBIG worth $155. Total value $563.

How to enter

Applications close on Thursday, 30 September 2021. No late entries will be accepted.


Join the Australian Veterinary Behaviour Interest Group

You must be a member of the Australian Veterinary Association to join the Group.