Board of Directors 2018 - 2019

Dr Paula ParkerPresident
Dr Paula Parker

Paula was appointed to the Board of the AVA in 2015 as the youngest director in the association's nearly 100 year history. Paula worked in large animal and mixed practice in Gippsland before transitioning to full time emergency and critical care practice. She has been a hospital director in both referral and general practice settings. Paula has clinical postgraduate qualifications from Murdoch University and is a Member of the Australian and New Zealand College of Veterinary Scientists in Emergency and Critical Care. Paula also has postgraduate qualifications in Business and Corporate Governance.



Bob DoneleyVice President
Dr Bob Doneley

Bob has been a veterinary clinician for 33 years, including 6 years as an associate, 22 years of practice ownership and 5 years as a clinical academic. He has extensive service on AVA and other committees and organisations. As a clinical academic and Associate Professor, he now teaches undergraduate students at the School of Veterinary Science, University of Queensland, Gatton.




EVA Nominee
Dr Christopher Reardon

Chris is a leading rural veterinarian, company director and owner of the Warwick Veterinary Clinic group on Queensland's Darling Downs. He has served as a branch president, Secretary and President of Equine Veterinarians Australia (EVA). Chris has represented the AVA on government reviews relating to equine influenza and Hendra virus.





Dr Malcolm McLennan

Malcolm filled a casual vacancy on the AVA Board from 2002-2004. He is a past President of the Queensland Division, an invited member of division committee and also honorary historian for the division. He has helped organise the education day component of the Annual Conference since 2003 and teaches casually in the veterinary science program at the University of Queensland. Malcolm is an inspirational teacher and leader in veterinary education with a passion for cattle medicine and welfare, and the well-being of graduates.



Dr Robert Johnson

Robert is based in Sydney and his current interests include clinical practice, animal welfare, wildlife research, education, and mentoring. His strengths include an ability to listen and communicate clearly, to lead quietly but effectively and to promote our profession.





ASAV nominee

Dr Julia Crawford

Julia is a small animal practitioner from the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney. She has been Treasurer and President of AVA's NSW Division and during this time was involved in issues such as Hendra, Equine Influenza, and animal welfare. She has also represented the AVA on the NSW state government Companion Animal Taskforce.




Ken JacobsDirector
Dr Ken Jacobs

Ken has been in equine practice for 40 years. He now runs a single person part-time practice focusing on equine lameness and imaging, discusses equine cases with students at CSU on Friday mornings and oversees his family farming activities. He has served as treasurer, president and policy councilor for EVA as well as treasurer and policy councilor for VERA. He was involved with the design, construction and initial operation of the Canberra Veterinary Hospital, Canberra. 




Dr Warwick Vale

Warwick is an experienced equine practitioner who has practiced in the Northern Suburbs of Perth for over 30 years. He has held numerous positions on the EVA executive, including President, and during this time was involved in issues such as Hendra, Equine Influenza, Racing Licensing and governance change. He is an ex-Chairman and Director of Equestrian Australia. He currently owns and manages a 5 vet equine hospital and has previously owned mixed and small animal based practices. Warwick is an AVA Fellow. 




Dr David Petersen

David has been a member of the AVA and the ACV for almost 20 years. David’s dedication to cattle veterinarians is reflected in his substantial service to the ACV and he has served as ACV President, ACV Vice President and ACV Treasurer all for a number of years. . David is an Accredited Pregnancy Testing examiner for Australian Cattle Veterinarians and an Australian Veterinary Reserve Member since inception. David has been director and shareholder of  Southern Riverina Vets, Cowbank Pty Ltd and Northern group lead Apiam Animal Health.



     Privacy Policy  |  Disclaimer  |  Contact us